Grip comfort optimization
DE EN

Grip comfort optimization

From the poster exhibition by M. Sc. Aydin Ünlü

The comfort optimization method for work equipment based on a digital hand model is derived from the example of an iron bender. It comprises both comfort analysis and comfort optimization.

Comfort Analysis

The aim of comfort analysis is to derive a work-equipment-dependent pressure discomfort model (PDT model) for the palm of the hand. The first step in determining the PDT model is to define and analyze the significant variables influencing the work equipment on the hand side and work side. Hand-side factors include gripping and coupling type, hand and body posture, but also hand types. Work-side factors include the level of force and force direction, as well as the kinematics of the applied force.

1. Einflussanalyse
Figure 1: Influence Analysis (Click to enlarge)

Secondly, pressure distributions between grip and palm have to be measured in relation to varying handle design parameters. From the pressure distributions and the pressure pain threshold (PPT) of the palm as measured, a work-equipment-dependent multiplier can be determined. Subsequently, this multiplier can be used to transform the PPT values to the PDT values.

2. Druckanalyse
Figure 2: Pressure Analysis (Click to enlarge)

The difference between PPT and PDT gives the tolerance range of upper and lower pain thresholds. The lower pain threshold is the so-called pressure discomfort threshold (PDT), which is work-equipment dependent. Embedded in a discomfort model, this PDT can already be used as a guideline for the evaluation of pressure distribution for gripping, so that the designer can decide after a few minutes how the handle will feel after several hours.

3. Druckdiskomfortmodell
Figure 3: Diskomfort Model (Click to enlarge)

Comfort Optimization

Grip comfort optimization is thus derived from a work-equipment-dependent PDT model based on a digital hand model. For this purpose, a simulation model of the human hand must first be created. This can be derived in the form of a skeleton model from open source programs such as "OpenSim", and in the form of a soft tissue model from "MakeHuman", and these models can be scaled in a CAD program such as CATIA V5 to the desired hand sizes.

1. Simulationsmodell
Figure 4: Simulation Model (Click to enlarge)

The simulation model must also reflect the information from hand-side and work-side comfort analysis. Manipulations such as gripping and coupling types, as well as hand position, must be transferred to the CAD system. After proper positioning of the grip on the palm, and the definition of boundary conditions such as contact and load conditions, the entire range of parameters can be meshed into a single model.

2. Drucksimulation
Figure 5: Pressure Simulation (Click to enlarge)

Grip comfort optimization can finally be performed by varying different handle design parameters and checking the PDT borders. The aim is to bring the pressure peaks below pressure discomfort thresholds.

3. Optimierung
Figure 6: Optimization (Click to enlarge)

Sources: Gust, P., Ünlü, A. (2014a). „Method to handle comfort optimization of work equipment based on a digital hand model“ . AHFE - 5th International Conference on Applied Human Factors and Ergonomics, Kraków Polen; Gust, P., Ünlü, A. (2014b). „Developing a comfort evaluation method for work equipment handles“ . Design 2014 - 13th International Design Conference, Dubrovnik - Cavtat – Croatia; Hall, C. F., Kilbom, A. E. (1993). “Sensitivity of the hand to surface pressure”. Applied Ergonomics; Strasser, H., Bullinger, H. J. (2007). “Assessment of the Ergonomic Quality of Hand-Held Tools and Computer Input Devices”. Amsterdam: IOS Press, Ergonomics, Human factors and Safety, Vomule 1.

DE EN

Griffkomfortoptimierung

Aus der Posterausstellung von M. Sc. Aydin Ünlü

Die Methode zur Griffkomfortoptimierung auf Basis eines digitalen Handmodells wurde exemplarisch an einem Rinneneisenbieger abgeleitet. Die Methode unterteilt sich auf die Komfortanalyse und in die Komfortoptimierung.

Komfortanalyse

Das Ziel der Komfortanalyse ist es ein arbeitsmittelabhängiges Druckdiskomfortmodell (PDT-Modell) der Handfläche abzuleiten. Zur Bestimmung der PDT sind zuerst signifikante Einflussgrößen der Hand- und Arbeitsseite des Arbeitsmittels zu analysieren und festzulegen. Zu handseitigen Einflussgrößen gehören z. B. Greif- sowie Kopplungsart, Hand- und Körperhaltung, aber auch Handtypen. Zu arbeitsseitigen Einflussgrößen gehören z. B. die Krafthöhe und die Kraftrichtung sowie die Kinematik der Kraft.

1. Einflussanalyse
Abbildung 1: 1. Einflussanalyse (Zum Vergrößern auf das Bild klicken)

Anschließend ist in Bezug zur Variation eines Griffgestaltungsparameters die Druckverteilung zwischen Griff und Handfläche zu messen. Mit den gemessenen Druckverteilungen und den Druckschmerzgrenzen (PPT) der Handfläche ist ein arbeitsmittelabhängiger Multiplikator zu bestimmen. Anschließend kann dieser Multiplikator zur Transformation der PPT-Werte zu PDT-Werten dienen.

2. Druckanalyse
Abbildung 2: 2. Druckanalyse (Zum Vergrößern auf das Bild klicken)

Die Differenz zwischen PPT und PDT ergibt den Toleranzbereich von oberer und unterer Druckdiskomfortgrenze. Diese PDT eingebettet in einem Diskomfortmodell können bereits als Richtwerte zur Beurteilung der Druckverteilung für das Greifen verwendet werden, sodass der Konstrukteur schon nach wenigen Minuten entscheiden kann, wie sich der Griff nach mehreren Stunden anfühlen wird.

3. Druckdiskomfortmodell
Abbildung 3: 3. Druckdiskomfortmodell (Zum Vergrößern auf das Bild klicken)

Komfortoptimierung

Das Ziel der Komfortoptimierung ist auf Basis eines digitalen Handmodells und unter der Beachtung des arbeitsmittelabhängigen Druckdiskomfortmodells den Griffkomfort zu optimieren. Hierzu ist zuerst ein Simulationsmodell der menschlichen Hand zu erstellen. Dazu können aus den OpenSource-Programmen wie „OpenSim“ ein Skelettmodell und „Makehumen“ ein Weichteilmodell abgeleitet und in einem CAD-Programm wie CATIA V5 auf die erwünschten Handgrößen skaliert werden.

1. Simulationsmodell
Abbildung 4: 1. Simulationsmodell (Zum Vergrößern auf das Bild klicken)

Ferner sind die aus der Komfortanalyse bekannten handseitigen und arbeitsseitigen Einflussgrößen an das Simulationsmodell zu übertragen. Manipulation wie z. B. Greif- und Kopplungsart sowie Handhaltung sind im CAD-System durchzuführen. Nach der richtigen Positionierung des Griffes auf die Handfläche sowie der Definition der Randbedingungen wie Kontakt- und Lastbedingungen ist das gesamte Modell zu vernetzen.

2. Drucksimulation
Abbildung 5: 2. Drucksimulation (Zum Vergrößern auf das Bild klicken)

Abschließend ist mit der Variation von unterschiedlichen Griffgestaltungsparametern und Überprüfung der PDTGrenzen eine Griffkomfortoptimierung durchzuführen. Das Ziel ist hierbei die Druckspitzen unter den Druckdiskomfortgrenzen zu bringen.

3. Optimierung
Abbildung 6: 3. Optimierung (Zum Vergrößern auf das Bild klicken)

Quellen: Gust, P., Ünlü, A. (2014a). „Method to handle comfort optimization of work equipment based on a digital hand model“ . AHFE - 5th International Conference on Applied Human Factors and Ergonomics, Kraków Polen; Gust, P., Ünlü, A. (2014b). „Developing a comfort evaluation method for work equipment handles“ . Design 2014 - 13th International Design Conference, Dubrovnik - Cavtat – Croatia; Hall, C. F., Kilbom, A. E. (1993). “Sensitivity of the hand to surface pressure”. Applied Ergonomics; Strasser, H., Bullinger, H. J. (2007). “Assessment of the Ergonomic Quality of Hand-Held Tools and Computer Input Devices”. Amsterdam: IOS Press, Ergonomics, Human factors and Safety, Vomule 1.